Jeff Platz
guitarist improviser

Skull Session, Rise Above

Skull Session, Rise Above - Skycap Records, 2003


  • Music By, Guitar – Jeff Platz
  • Tenor Saxophone – Timo Shanko
  • Trumpet [Trumpets] – Scott Getchell
  • Acoustic Bass – Joe Morris
  • Drums, Percussion – Luther Gray

Recorded February 2003 @ Echobass Studios, Newton (MA). Mastered @, Portland (ME).

Skycap Records, 2003

Recording track list

  1. Roshamatod 5:48 
  2. Ochre Moon 8:25 
  3. Genius Syndrome 7:06 
  4. Downward Chop 11:39 
  5. You In Mind 10:02 
  6. Open 8:09 
  7. Rind 10:55

CD reviews

Release notes

This is my first release for Skycap Records. Featuring Joe Morris on bass, Luther Gray drums, Timo Shanko tenor saxophone, Scott Getchell trumpet and Jeff Platz guitar.

Skull Session - the band

I believe this was Joe Morris’s debut recording as a bass player! Joe has been musically inspirational for me over the years both as a guitarist and a bassist. Timo Shanko exorcises several ghosts on this record, a real freight train of intensity! Getchell keeps things angular and Luther Gray as always, provides some superior beats! I really hope to revisit this group sometime in the near future. Playing with this lineup was truly a serious kick in the ass for me as a musician!

Jeff Platz © 2012; designed by